General Enquiries

In addition to browsing this website, we encourage you to register your contact information now to receive our latest workplace heatstroke prevention information.

  • Register through the online form: https://bit.ly/3NTkQkp (Chinese version only)
  • Register through the OSH 24-Hours Hotline for Prevention of Heat Stroke: WhatsApp iconWhatsApp 9317 0987 (Chinese version only)

The hot and humid summer in Hong Kong poses an increased risk of heat stroke to employees
working outdoor or in indoor environments that lack air conditioning systems. Therefore, employers are required to conduct risk assessments on the heat stress of employees at work, by considering the various heat stress risk factors (including working environment, workload and personal factors, and take appropriate measures for prevention of heat stroke and help employees to cool down the body, and arrange appropriate rest breaks in times of Heat Stress at Work Warnings. The employees take measures to prevent heat stroke arranged by their employers at work, to safeguard their own occupational safety and health and reduce the risk of heat stroke.

It can be calculated by using the “Rest Time Calculator” on the webpage.

For details, please refer to the Guidance Notes on Prevention of Heat Stroke at Work issued by the Labour Department, in particular, the Workplace Heat Stress Risk Assessment Form in Appendix 2, Physical Workload Categories and Examples in Appendix 1 and Rest Arrangements for Outdoor Work in Times of Heat Stress at Work Warning in Appendix 4 of the Guidance Notes.

Rest Time Calculator

In general, the physical demand can be determined by the physical activities and the carrying load at work. The following are the four levels of physical workload categories and examples.

Light physical workload

Job tasks mainly involve:

  • Light arm and leg work while sitting or standing, such as

    • writing, typing, drawing, sewing
    • driving normal vehicle, operating foot pedal
    • inspection, sorting or assembly of light materials
    • operating low-powered tools or machines for drilling or sawing work, etc
  • Performing light tasks while walking (~2 km/h) on a level, even path (Carrying with load not more than 20 kg)

Industry examples

ReceptionistWaiterWaitressWarehouse ClerkFiber Optic TechnicianSite ClerkLevelerProperty OfficerSecurity Guardtraffic controllerTour Guidejournaliststatistical analystdoormanliftguard

Moderate physical workload

Job tasks mainly involve:

  • Sustained hand and arm work or working with hand and arm, leg or trunk, such as

    • manipulating hand tool for cutting, hammering nails, filing and polishing
    • working with pneumatic breaker, plastering or brick laying work
    • off-road operation of lorries, tractors or construction equipment
    • weeding, hoeing, picking fruits or vegetables
    • loading or unloading goods, pushing or pulling lightweight carts
  • Walking (~2 to 5 km/h) on a level, even path or walking (~2.5 to 3 km/h) on levelled but irregular ground, or walking (<2.5 km/h) on stable ground uphill with inclination ≤5% (Carrying with load not more than 20 kg)

Industry examples

ChefDishwashing WorkerCleanerLaundry WorkerWorker who sprays pesticides or disinfectantsGardener Container OperatorFreight DriverDelivery WorkerPostal and Delivery WorkersWarehouse WorkersLoading and Unloading WorkersMechanical and Electrical workerPaintingPlasteringMasonryCarpentryExcavator OperatorMobile or Tower Crane OperatorWelderMetalworkerplumberriggerFarm Technicianboiler technicianIroning worker

Heavy physical workload

Job tasks mainly involve:

  • Intense arm and trunk work with hand tools or machines or carrying heavy object, such as

    • shovelling or chiselling work
    • mixing, pouring, and compacting concrete using a concrete vibrator
    • pushing or pulling heavily loaded hand carts or wheelbarrows
  • Walking (~5.5 to 7 km/h) on a level, even path or walking (~3.5 to 5 km/h) on levelled but irregular or unstable ground (Carrying with load not more than 20 kg)

  • Walking (~2.5 to 3 km/h) uphill with inclination ≤5%) (Carrying with load not more than 10 kg)

Industry examples

Manual LaborerPorterformwork workerConcrete WorkerGrouterBricklaying WorkerMetal Formwork Erector

Very Heavy physical workload

Job tasks mainly involve:

  • Intense activity at rapid pace

    • >shovelling or digging at a fast pace
    • >continuously heavy manual handling work or rebar-fixing work
  • Walking (~> 7 km/h) on a level, even path or walking (~> 5 km/h) on a levelled but irregular or unstable ground

  • Walking (~≥ 3 km/h) uphill with inclination ≥5%) or walking up stairs

    Running (≥ 6 km/h)

Industry examples

Bar Bender and Fixerscaffolder

If you wish to enquire about the physical workload, please contact the Occupational Safety and Health Branch of the Labour Department at
2559 2297 (auto-recording service available outside service hours) or WhatsApp icon Whatsapp OSH 24-Hours Hotline for prevention of heat stroke at 9317-0987

Note: The above examples of industries are based on general working conditions of individual occupations and are for reference only. Employers should make reasonable judgments based on the actual job nature of their employees in the risk assessment.

Employers/ Employees should calculate the rest time based on the workload performed during the hour after the Heat Stress at Work Warning is in effect. If two levels of workload are performed in the same hour, the rest time should be calculated according to the dominant workload performed during that hour. When the working time of different levels of workloads are similar, the heavier level of workload should be adopted for the calculation.

Employers may appoint a person who is familiar with the working conditions of the workplace and has basic occupational safety and health knowledge about heat stress to conduct the risk assessment. In addition to considering the various heat stress risk factors (including environmental, work and personal factors), appropriate preventive and control measures should also be recommended based on the different risk factors identified.

If employers cannot take appropriate heat stroke prevention measures according to the Guidance Notes on Prevention of Heat Stroke at Work, due to the unique working conditions and needs of their employees, they could contact the Occupational Safety and Health Branch of the Labour Department at 2559 2297 (auto-recording service available outside service hours) for enquiry, or seek the opinion and assistance of occupational health professionals.

When Hong Kong Heat Index reaches the respective levels of Heat Stress at Work Warning coded Amber, Red and Black, the Hong Kong Observatory will assist the Labour Department in displaying relevant information on Heat Stress at Work Warning on the homepage of its official website and the “My Observatory” mobile application. The public can also receive details of the Heat Stress at Work Warning by
allowing push notifications from “My Observatory” mobile application. In addition, the Labour Department will issue prompt message to the public regarding the coming into effect of Heat Stress at Work Warning through press releases and the “GovHK Notifications” mobile application. In addition, various electronic media will also disseminate relevant information through appropriate channels.

Tips for Preventing Heat Stroke

The main purpose of HSWW is to warn about the significant heat stress and health risks posed by the weather in Hong Kong as a whole to employees working outdoors or in indoor environments without air-conditioning systems overall, and to remind employers and employees to take necessary preventive measures to reduce the risk of heat stroke at work.

The establishment of HSWW does not obviate the responsibility of employers to assess safety and health risks in the workplace. If employers and employees believe that, due to the special circumstances of the workplace (e.g. geographical location, working environment), the HSWW does not fully reflect the real-time risk of heat stress posed to employees at work by the weather conditions or environment in the workplace, the employers have the responsibility to make assessment accordingly, such as seeking occupational health professionals to measure the WBGT index at the workplace for evaluating the level of heat stress faced by the employees, and taking corresponding preventive measures based on the results to reduce the risk of heat stroke at work.

After the issuance of a Heat Stress at Work Warning, employers are required to arrange rest breaks according to the workload of employees. Besides “Suspension of work” arrangement, which should be implemented immediately, employers can flexibly arrange for employees to have the recommended rest time during the hour.

The work / rest arrangements recommended in The Guidance Notes on Prevention of Heat Stroke at Work published by the Labour Department are not applicable to work that needs to be performed urgent or emergency work, such as firefighting, emergency rescue, or urgent repair work. Therefore, relevant employers/ responsible persons should develop necessary control measures in advance for employees engaged in such work to prevent heat stroke while performing relevant duties. For enquiry, please contact the Occupational Safety and Health Branch of the Labour Department at 2559 2297 (auto-recording service available outside service hours), or seek the opinion and assistance of occupational health professionals.

Apart from weather conditions, physical work generates heat and increases heat stress. Employers should reduce heat stress during work, as far as reasonably practicable, let employees to have rest break. For instance, employees should let employees performing light to moderate levels of physical work have a minimum of a 10-minute rest break after every 2 hours of work, while employees performing heavy to very heavy levels of physical work should be given at least a 15-minute rest break after every 2 hours of work,
to allow employees to recuperate, drink water and cool down their body.

“Heat Acclimatization”means the gradual physiological adaption of the body to enhance the ability to withstand heat stress. If an employee has not worked in a hot environment for more than a month or has never worked in such environment, the employer should arrange a minimum acclimatization period of five days to allow the employee to fully adapt to working in a hot environment. On the first day, the employee’s work in a hot environment should not last for more than 20% of the normal working time in such environment. The working time can then be increased by 20% of the normal working time in hot environment each day until the employee fully adapts and can work normally in the hot environment.

If an employee has not worked in a hot environment for two weeks to one month, the employer should also arrange a minimum acclimatization period of four days when the employee returns to work to allow them to re-adapt to working in a hot environment. On the first day, the employee’s work in a hot environment should not last for more than 50% of the normal working time in such environment. The working time of the employee can then be increased stepwise by 20% of the normal working time in hot environment each day until it returns to the normal working time in hot environment.

Apart from heat acclimatization, if employees have underlying health conditions such as heart disease, hypertension, or are taking certain medications, they may have an increased risk of heat stroke while working in hot environments. If they have doubts about whether their health condition is suitable for working safely in high temperatures, they should consult their doctors, inform their employers of any relevant advice and discuss with them about the appropriate work arrangements.

Enquiries on working environment and facility requirement

from exposure to direct sunlight. Employers/ responsible persons should provide shade or sun-blocking cover, it would be effective to minimize direct sun exposure when covering most parts of the body. Using misting fans indoors can increase humidity in the environment, which can affect the heat dissipation effect. Therefore, misting fans are generally more suitable for use in outdoor environments.

In view of the varying nature and demands of different industries and job positions, employers should implement different control measures for reducing heat stress. For further enquiry, please contact the Occupational Safety and Health Branch of the Labour Department at 2559 2297 (auto-recording service available outside service hours), or seek the opinion and assistance of occupational health professionals.

Also, employers could establish reasonable and mutually agreed heat prevention measures and improve the effectiveness of preventive measures through consultation with employees such as safety committee of the organization.

Generally speaking, in indoor work environments equipped with air conditioning systems, the air temperature and relative humidity can be controlled at 23°C to 26°C and 40 % to 70 % respectively. An air cooler could not achieve such effect.

Adequate air movements through inlets and outlets in an indoor area are essential for natural ventilation. For buildings that rely entirely on natural ventilation, the ventilation openings should be at least 5% to 10% of the floor area to obtain adequate ventilation in summer.

Some examples on ineffective control measures on reducing heat stress from heat sources or heat-generating facilities nearby the working locations:

  • No effective devices installed in the kitchen to remove the hot air and humidity generated by cooking process;
  • No exhaust device used to remove the hot air generated during gas welding or flame cutting processes;
  • No heat shield installed for heat-generating facilities near the working location, which results in higher temperatures in the work location.

Common non-breathable protective clothing includes: coveralls which are impervious to dust or chemicals donned for asbestos removal work or pesticide spraying work; and protective isolation gowns donned by healthcare workers. However, reflective vests and aprons only cover parts of the body, only posed limited impact on heat dissipation, and are not considered as non-breathable clothing.

In addition to the time of rest, the place of rest is also very important. Employers/responsible persons must arrange covered or shaded places for employees working outdoors so that employees can sit and rest. Rest areas should be well ventilated, ideally with air conditioning. If it is not possible to arrange a shaded resting place, it is necessary to give employees a longer rest time to relieve heat stress. In remote workplaces with no electricity supply, employers/persons in charge may consider setting up mobile solar cooling rest stations for the use of relevant employees.

Apart from rest breaks, the location of the rest area is equally important in managing heat stress. Employers / responsible persons should set up or arrange shaded areas for employees performing outdoor work to sit down and rest. Rest areas should have good ventilation or, better still, air conditioning, if available. If shaded rest areas are not available, employees may require longer breaks to alleviate heat stress. In remote and off-grid working locations, employers or responsible persons may consider installing mobile cooling stations for relevant employees to use.

The Occupational Safety and Health Council has developed the “Solar Cooling Kiosk” that provides a shady area with good ventilation for employees working in rural and remote areas to rest and drink water: https://bit.ly/3BhETBp

Enquiry

OSH 24-Hours Hotline for Prevention of Heat Stroke (Chinese version only):
 
Occupational Safety and Health Branch of the Labour Department
Phone icon2559 2297
(auto-recording service available outside service hours)
Fax iconFax: 2915 1410 
 
Labour Department Website
Occupational Safety and Health Council Website
Occupational Safety and Health Council Email for Prevention of Heat Stroke

一般查询

除了浏览本网站外,我们鼓励您立即登记联络资料,以便接收我们发出的最新工作间防暑资讯。

香港夏天炎热潮湿,一些需要在户外工作或在没有空调的室内工作的雇员,会受酷热天气影响,有较高中暑风险。因此,雇主须为员工进行热压力风险评估,考虑员工的工作环境丶劳动量及个人风险因素,采取针对性的防中暑措施,帮助员工消暑降温,并在工作暑热警告生效时制定和安排适当休息时间;而雇员在工作时采取雇主安排的防中暑措施,亦可保障自身职安健,减低中暑风险。

可利用网页内的「休息时间计一计」计算。

详情则可参阅劳工处《预防工作时中暑指引》,特别是附录二「工作地点热压力风险评估表格」丶附录一「工作劳动量的分类和例子」及附录四「工作暑热警告生效时户外露天工作的休息安排」。

休息时间计一计

劳动量的分类一般按员工日常工作最经常涉及的身体动作和负重而定,以下是四种劳动量的分类和相关工种例子。

轻劳动

日常工作多涉及以下动作:

  • 坐着或站立时使用手臂和腿部进行轻松的活动

    • 书写丶打字丶绘画丶缝纫等工作
    • 驾驶一般车辆丶操作脚踏开关等工作
    • 检查丶分类丶小型组装等工作
    • 操控小型电动工具或机械作钻孔或锯木等的工作
  • 在平路上步行时(约每小时2公里)进行轻巧的工作(负重不多於20公斤的物件)

轻劳动工种例子

知客楼面侍应导游領队旅游巴司机物业管理员保安员交通指挥员仓务/物流文员地盘文员 平水员 (墨斗)记者统计分析员门僮救生员推销员调查访问员电讯技术员电子技工工程检查员

中等劳动

日常工作多涉及以下动作:

  • 持续使用手部的活动或使用手丶脚和身体躯干的活动

    • 以手动工具作切割丶锤钉丶刨锯丶磨光及擦亮等工作
    • 操作风炮丶进行泥水批荡或铺砌砖瓦等工作
    • 在崎岖地面上操控货车丶拖拉机或建筑机器等工作
    • 除草丶锄地丶采摘蔬果等工作
    • 上落货物丶推动或拉动轻型手推车等工作
  • 负重不多於20公斤的物件时,在平路上行走(约每小时2.5至5公里)丶在不平坦的路面行走(约每小时2.5至3公里)或步行(约每小时少於2.5公里)上斜坡(≤5%)

中等劳动工种例子

厨师厨工洗碗点心师傅烧味师傅洗衣洗烫乾洗消毒杀虫灭鼠园艺花王园丁修树树艺清洁扫街回收工人货柜操作员货运司机 送货工人邮政和速递人员仓务员理货员停机坪拖车头司机机场行李货运装卸员光纤/宽频/通讯技工机电/电梯/升降机/冷气/汽车维修髹漆泥水批荡木工挖泥机机手吊机手天秤手索具工叻㗎讯号员焊接工金属工水喉渠务杂工铲车手机械设备操作农场丶农夫丶耕田丶养鱼丶渔夫锅爐技工生产线技工包装飞机维修技工建造机械技术员电机工程技术员屋宇设备技术员测量技术员装修工人

重劳动

日常工作多涉及以下动作:

  • 强烈地运用手臂和身体躯干操作手动工具或机器的活动或搬运重物

    • >挖铲或锤凿等工作
    • >混和丶浇置及使用震捣机捣实混凝土等工作
    • >推动或拉动负载重物的手推车或单轮车等工作
  • 负重不多於20公斤的物件时,在平路上急步行走(约每小时5.5至7公里)或在不平坦/不规则的路面上快步行走(约每小时3.5至5公里)

  • 行走(约每小时2.5至3公里)上斜坡(≤5%)(负重不多於10公斤的物件)

重劳动工种例子

搬运工人钉板石屎混凝土灌浆砌砖金属模板装嵌工结构钢架装嵌工人清拆工人

极重劳动

日常工作多涉及以下动作:

  • 极急速地进行重劳动的活动

    • 急速地进行挖铲或锤凿等工作
    • 连续地搬运或扎稳钢筋等重物的工作
  • 在平路上急步行走(约每小时多於7公里)或在不平坦/不规则的路面上急步行走(约每小时多於5公里)

  • 在斜路(≥5%)或楼梯向上快步行走(约每小时多於3公里)

  • 跑步(约每小时多於6公里)

极重劳动工种例子

扎铁搭棚

查询工作劳动量,可致电劳工处职业安全及健康部:2559 2297查询(非办公时间设有自动录音服务)或 WhatsApp icon WhatsApp职安健24小时防暑专线:9317-0987

注:上述的行业例子是基于个别职业一般工作情况而判断,仅供参考。雇主须在风险评估时按员工的实际工作性质而作出合理的判断。

雇主/员工应按工作暑热警告生效後的那一小时内的劳动量来计算休息时间。若在同一小时内会进行两种不同劳动量的工作时,雇主/员工应以该小时大部分时间工作的劳动量来计算休息时间。当两种不同劳动量的工作时间相若时,应以较重的劳动量作计算。

雇主可委任一名熟悉工作地点及员工的工作情况,并对热压力和防中暑有基本知识的人士进行风险评估。评估时除了考虑各热压力的风险因素(包括环境丶工作及个人因素),亦须就所识别的不同风险因素,建议需采取的预防及控制措施。雇主若因其雇员的独特工作情况和需要未能参照《预防工作时中暑指引》内采取合适的防暑措施,可致电劳工处职业安全及健康部:2559 2297查询(非办公时间设有自动录音服务),或寻求职业安全健康专业人员的意见和协助。

当香港暑热指数达到劳工处发出的三种工作暑热警告级别,香港天文台会协助劳工处在其官方网站及「我的天文台」手机应用程式,显示相应的工作暑热警告级别。公众亦可透过选择接收「我的天文台」手机应用程式的推送讯息得知工作暑热警告生效。此外,劳工处亦会透过新闻公报及「香港政府通知你」手机应用程式,向公众发出工作暑热警告生效的提示讯息。此外,各大电子传媒机构亦会透过不同渠道发放相关讯息。

更多防暑资讯

「工作暑热警告」主要是就本港天气整体上对于在户外或没有设置空调系统的室内环境工作的雇员构成显著热压力和健康风险作出警示,提醒雇主和雇员采取所需的防暑措施,减低雇员工作时中暑的风险。

「工作暑热警告」的制定并没有免却雇主本身须评估其工作地点的安全和健康风险的责任。若雇主和雇员因其工作地点的特殊情况(例如地理位置、工作环境),认为「工作暑热警告」未能实时及充分反映该工作地点的天气或环境对雇员构成的热压力风险,雇主有责任就这情况自行另作评估,例如寻求职业健康专业人员在工作地点量度WBGT指数评估雇员面对的热压力,并按结果采取相应的预防措施减低雇员工作时中暑的风险。

在工作暑热警告发布後紧接的一小时内,雇主需因应雇员工作的劳动量作出相应的休息安排。除了「暂停工作」安排应即时实施外,雇主可灵活安排雇员在该小时内的任何时段作所需的休息。

劳工处《预防工作时中暑指引》所建议的休息安排并不适用於紧急工作(例如灭火丶紧急救援或抢修工作)。因此,雇主/负责人应为从事这类工作的员工预先制定所需的控制措施,预防工作时中暑。如有需要可致电劳工处职业安全及健康部:2559 2297查询(非办公时间设有自动录音服务),或寻求职业安全健康专业人员的意见和协助。

除了天气,体力劳动亦会产生热能,增加热压力。为减低雇员工作时的热压力,雇主应在合理地切实可行的情况下,让员工有休息时间。例如安排轻至中等劳动的员工每工作2 小时至少有10 分钟的休息,而重至极重劳动的员工每工作2 小时至少有15分钟的休息,让他们可稍作歇息丶喝水,并让身体降温。

热适应期是让员工在一段时间内逐渐适应酷热的工作环境和身体的反应,并作出相应的生理调节。若雇员从未曾或者已经超过一个月没有在酷热环境工作,雇主/负责人应安排最少5天的热适应期,让员工可以完全地适应在酷热环境中工作。员工首天在酷热环境中工作不应超过正常工作时间的20%,之後每天再增加正常工作时间的20%,直至员工完全适应并如常在酷热环境工作。 

此外,若员工已有两星期至一个月的时间没有在酷热环境中工作,当他们复工时,雇主/负责人亦应安排最少4天的热适应期,让他们可以重新适应在酷热环境中的工作。在复工的首天,员工在酷热环境工作的时间不应超过正常工作时间的50%;之後每天可再增加正常工作时间的20%,逐步回复到正常在酷热环境工作的时间。

除了热适应外,如雇员本身有一些健康问题,例如心脏病丶高血压或长期服用某些药物等,可能会增加在酷热环境工作的风险。雇员如对其身体状况是否适合在高温下安全工作有疑问,应徵询医生意见,并将有关意见通知雇主,及与雇主商讨适当的工作安排。

查询工作环境及设备要求

一般而言,户外工作的雇员应特别注意受阳光直接照射时吸收的热辐射。雇主/负责人在工作位置加设上盖或遮挡阳光的遮蔽处,应可以遮挡员工絶大部分身躯,才可视为有效的措施。此外,在室内使用喷雾风扇容易增加环境的湿度,反而影响散热效果,因此喷雾风扇一般适宜在户外环境使用。

雇主/负责人应注意在不同的工作环境或工序,可选择不同的设备或措施以减低热压力,因此不能一概而论,如有需要可致电劳工处职业安全及健康部:2559 2297查询(非办公时间设有自动录音服务),或寻求职业安全健康专业人员的意见和协助。此外,雇主/负责人亦可透过机构的安全委员会,让雇主及雇员可以共同协商,提出防中暑建议及持续改善预防措施的有效性。

一般而言,有空调系统的室内工作地点,可以把室内的温度及湿度分别控制在摄氏23至26度及百分之40至70。冷风机并不能达到相关效果。

足够的空气输入口及排出口对自然通风极为重要。完全依赖自然通风的楼宇,通风口面积应最少占楼面面积的百分之五至十,才能使楼宇於夏季得到足够的通风。

以下举出一些常见的热源或发热设备:

  • 没有在厨房装设有效的装置以抽走煮食工序散发的热气和湿气;
  • 进行气体焊接或火焰切割时,没有使用抽气装置抽走工序散发的热气或蒸气;
  • 没有在工作位置附近的发热设备(例如锅炉)加装隔热板,而令工作位置的温度上升。

常见的不透气工作服包括:清拆石棉或灭虫工作所穿着的全身式不透气保护衣。医护人员所穿着的全身式防感染保护衣亦属於不透气工作服。然而,反光衣和围裙只覆盖少部分身躯,影响散热情况有限,不被视为不透气保护衣。

除了休息时间,休息的地方也很重要。雇主/负责人须为户外露天工作的员工安排有上盖或可遮荫的地方,让员工可以坐下休息。休息的地方应有良好的通风,若有空气调节则更理想。如未能安排有遮荫的休息地方,需给予员工更长的休息时间纾缓热压力。在偏远及没有电力供应的工作地点,雇主/负责人可考虑设置流动太阳能清凉休息站供相关员工使用。

参考职安局设计的「太阳能清凉休息站」 ,让户外山旯旮地区工作的工友避暑降温:https://bit.ly/41ncjJj

查询

职安健24小时防暑专线
 
劳工处职业安全及健康部
Phone icon2559 2297
(非办公时间设有自动录音服务) 
Fax icon传真:2915 1410 
 
劳工处网页
职业安全健康局网页
职业安全健康局防暑查询电邮